Goddamn it! Not again!

I had it all planned out. I intended to write about the hypermasculine snowflakes currently melting over the new casting choice for Dr. Who. It was as if the male exclusivity of the character gave them the erroneous impression that Dr. Who was the property of the fragile male ego. But I can’t write about that because of Donald Trump. I know I said I’m sick of Trump. I know I expressed how inept he is at everything in life. I made the conscious decision to NOT write about him this week…

But then he fucked around and issued an executive order banning transgendered folks from serving in the military over Twitter.

I hate this man so much.

Just when you think it can’t get any worse. Just when you think the rabbit hole can’t go any deeper. Just when you think, “this can’t be real life,” BAM, the orange orangutan pulls another dirty trick outta his flabby ass.

To be frank, I don’t think this will go far. But that’s not the point. The point is that our commander-in-chief (ugh, I just threw up in my mouth saying that) thinks the government is like a business where he is king and can make unilateral decisions concerning our nation without the proper checks and balances. I know every civil rights organization from the ACLU and on will fight this injustice bare-knuckled if it comes to that (it most certainly will).

In these times of increasing tribalism, social and political instability and environmental turmoil, we must remain vigilant and we must repeat our mantra, our chant, our tether that keeps us grounded in reality…

THIS. IS. NOT. NORMAL!!!

Just keep repeating that to yourself. It certainly won’t stop the headache, but it will remind you not to normalize this type of bullshit.

And for people arguing that this stunt is just a distraction, that may be so, but I doubt the people most affected by this, you know, trans folks, feel any less justifiably angry about it. To reduce this to a distraction narrative, we run the risk of reducing the importance of Trump’s bigoted and un-American act. It’s important to understand the serious implications of Trump’s ban and my fear is that the distraction argument is a distraction in and of itself.

This decision will definitely appeal to his bigoted, backward, knuckle-dragging, willfully ignorant, ultraconservative, evangelical base who voted for him to Make America Great Again. Of course, we all know that phrase really means Make America white, Christian, heterosexual, able-bodied, rich and male-dominant again.

NEVER AGAIN.

The world is changing, people, and you can either get with that change or be left behind.

We Will NEVER Go Back!!

 

Familiarity breeds both comfort and contempt. People stuck in yesteryear do not want their world upended. These people long for a gloried past where everything was about them and for them. Tough fucking shit, those days are over. Don’t expect me to feel sorry for them. Those who voted for him asked for this.

WE WILL NEVER GO BACK.

Next week I promise not to talk about Trump, I don’t give a flying fuck what he does.

This entry was posted in Other Stuff on by .

About roninliterati

Ronin Literati is Harold Fisher, formerly known as Obi Adisa Asad (sometimes, still known as this–long story), also known as Fish. I’m a writer living in Los Angeles. My dream is to become a successful science fiction/fantasy writer. I also write this blog when I remember. Thanks for coming with me on this wild ride. If you want to reach me, you can send me an email at roninliterati@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

